Changing perception and integration through salsa by David Diaz

We want to share here this touching message David has sent to us from Japan. His insights are encouraging and confirming that the subjects we are exploring in this documentary deserve to be told. Thank you David for your acknowledgement but more importantly for sharing  your thoughts with open heart and sincerity..

Thumbs up to David for being the first to start THE HEART OF SALSA “BLOGUMENTARY”

Magali,

Thank you for your warm reply!! You know, if I had the budget, I would love to have contributed much much more to your project! Not only did I grow up in the U.S. with a multi-ethnic/Latino backround in search of identity, but upon moving to Japan 9 years ago I was faced with the same challenge of finding my place in society once more. Salsa has always been an outlet for finding stability within my own self-identity, and an identity within a greater community. Words really cannot express how wonderful I think it is that you guys are taking on this documentary with these kinds of issues in mind.

I also feel that it’s extremely important people see this side of who we are! Here in Japan, salsa suffers from a rather narrow image: a stereotype based on hollywood perhaps, that salsa is for singles who want to seize the day–with no repercussion to their actions (because thats how latinos live their lives?!?): it’s hot latin nights of drinking and dancing at clubs and bars. But whenever I go visit my family in Colombia, I get this wonderful affirmation that salsa is soo much more than that: salsa is in the taxies and busses, it’s in restaraunts, grandma’s kitchen, It’s on TV, it’s at the beach, and, yes, it’s at the club as well; it’s the heartbeat of a nation; it’s by the people and for the people! I often feel this is a big hurdle I have to overcome in my work: breaking down the stereotype to let people have a glimpse of how vast and wonderful salsa really is!! And who better to ask than the musicians and dancers who have let it touch their lives.

YOU GUYS rock!! I really do wish you all the best–and I cant wait to see the film! As you guys continue to blog I will periodically repost to my facebook page. I’m not the greasted translator, but I will do what I can so that my students, and hopefully a part of the community here in Tokyo, knows what it is you’re doing, and the cultural value of the project!

Best of luck!!

David Diaz

La Paloma Latin Dance
david@la-paloma-tokyo.com

3 thoughts on “Changing perception and integration through salsa by David Diaz

  1. THANK U DAVID DIAZ FOR YOUR INTERPRETATION OF WHAT SALSA IS & HAS BEEN FOR U. LIKE MANY OTHERS, U DESCRIBE WHAT WE HAVE & PERHAPS R STILL GOING THROUGH. THANKS FOR SHARING & U & OTHERS WILL BE HEARING FROM ME, AS WELL, IN THE NEAR FUTURE.
    LUISA VELEZ, ALBERT TORRES’ MOM

    • Luisa,

      Muchas gracias por tus palabras! Les deseamos mucho exito y mucha suerte a Albert y a los directores del proyecto. Espero que, algun dia de estos, puedas venir a japon–a pasear con nosotros… sabes que estarias como en tu casa. Saludos y abrazos desde la comunida salsera en japon.

      Best of luck!!

      David

      • GRACIAS DAVID POR TU INVITACION A IR AL JAPON. PARA MI SERIA UN HONOR Y PLACER IR. QUIEN SABE? EL MUNDO CADA VEZ SE HACE MAS PEQUE~NO ASI QUE TALVES ALGUN DIA LO LOGRARE. PERO QUIERO QUE SEPAS QUE ME ENCANTARIA PASEAR CON TODOS USTEDES. ME SIENTO YA COMO SI ESTUVIESE EN MI CASA. SOMOS UNA FAMILIA INTERNACIONAL Y GLOBALMENTE! TENEMOS MUCHO EN COMUN, ESPECIALMENTE, EL AMOR QUE LE TENEMOS A LA SALSA, Y NO ES LA QUE COMEMOS SINO LA QUE SENTIMOS EN NUESTRO CUERPO Y LA DEMOSTRAMOS AL BAILAR. QUE VIVA LA SALSA! NOS VEREMOS EN LA PISTA DE BAILE, OK?
        MUCHO EXITO SIEMPRE!

        LUISA VELEZ

Leave a comment